Acopian Announces 2017 Power Supply Engineering Scholarship Winner



Mr. Austin Park, 2017 Acopian Power Supply Engineering Scholarship Winner

Easton, PA, ... Acopian Power Supplies, a leader in the design, manufacturing and distribution of standard and custom power supplies, today announced that Austin Park of Santa Cruz, California has been named the winner of the first annual Acopian Power Supply Engineering Scholarship.  The new scholarship program is established to help talented engineering students, enrolled full-time in an undergraduate United States college or university, pursue careers in power electronics or a related discipline.

Mr. Park, who recently received a Bachelor of Science (BS) in Electrical Engineering from UCLA with a grade point average (GPA) of 3.9, will use the $1,000 Acopian Power Supply Scholarship towards tuition and other educational expenses at Stanford University, where he has been accepted into the Masters of Science (MS) program in Energy Resources Engineering.  His specific areas of interest relate to renewable-grid integration technology and the utilization of low-carbon energy sources.

“This is the first year an Acopian Power Supply Engineering Scholarship has been awarded,” said Alex Karapetian, director of sales and marketing for Acopian.  “We are proud to have initiated this annual scholarship and demonstrate our commitment to help promote engineering careers; especially those that involve power engineering.   Mr. Park’s impressive academic accomplishments, coupled with his focus on grid integration of renewable energy sources and use of electrical energy storage, made him the obvious scholarship recipient.”

To be considered for the scholarship, Acopian received applications from engineering students at colleges and universities across the country.  Acopian’s panel of judges selected the winner based on specific eligibility criteria, including a GPA of 3.0 or above on a 4.0 scale, and a letter of referral from an individual qualified to evaluate the applicant’s academic accomplishments. The submission phase closed on June 30, 2017.