Colorado High School students fight for top spot in battle of the brains



On February 21, hundreds of Colorado high school students will be racking their brains to quickly find answers to rapid-fire questions at the 25th Colorado High School Science Bowl from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. at Dakota Ridge High School, 13399 W. Coal Mine Ave., Littleton. Forty-eight teams from around the state will face off as scientists and volunteers from the Energy Department's Golden Service Center and National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) quiz them with college level science and math questions.

The winning team advances to Energy Department's National Science Bowl™ in Washington, D.C.. April 30-May 4, where more than 400 students from 70 high schools will compete for the national title. Students answer rapid-fire questions with tournament rounds lasting only 16 minutes. Questions cover physics, mathematics, biology, chemistry, earth and space science, energy, and general sciences. Each team is made up of four students, one alternate and a coach.

"The Science Bowl is the nation's premier science and math competition for high school students, and all those who participate are among our nation's best and brightest," Energy Department Golden Service Center Manager Tim Meeks said. "We support this competition so they can demonstrate their skills and inspire young people across the country to become the scientists and engineers we need to keep our nation competitive in the global economy."

The Energy Department began the science bowl tradition in 1991 as a way to encourage high school students to explore math and science in a fun academic competition. The Department's Golden Service Center is one of the major sponsors of this year's Colorado High School Science Bowl.

This year's Colorado High School Science Bowl teams include:
Arapahoe High School (Centennial) - two teams
Centennial High School (Centennial) - two teams
Cherokee Trail High School (Aurora) - two teams
Cherry Creek High School (Greenwood Village) - two teams
Cheyenne Mountain High School (Colorado Springs) - two teams
Coronado High School (Colorado Springs) - two teams
Dakota Ridge High School (Littleton) - two teams
Douglas County High School (Castle Rock) - two teams
Early College of Arvada (Arvada) - two teams
Fairview High School ( Boulder)
Fort Collins High School (Fort Collins) - two teams
Fossil Ridge High School (Fort Collins)
Green Mountain High School (Lakewood)
Highlands Ranch High School (Highlands Ranch)
Horizon High School (Thornton)
Jefferson Academy (Broomfield) - two teams
Lakewood High School (Lakewood) - two teams
Liberty Common High School (Fort Collins) - two teams
Loveland High School (Loveland)
Peak to Peak Charter School (Lafayette)
Poudre High School (Fort Collins) - two teams
Prospect Ridge Academy (Broomfield)
Ralston Valley Senior High School (Arvada)
Rangeview High School (Aurora) - two teams
Ridgeview Classical Charter Schools (Fort Collins) - two teams
Rocky Mountain High School (Fort Collins)
Smoky Hill High School (Aurora) - two teams
Standley Lake High School (Westminster)
Vail Christian School (Vail) - two teams
Valor Christian High School (Highlands Ranch)

Sponsors for the event are the Energy Department's Golden Service Center; NREL; the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC; Jefferson County Public Schools; Dakota Ridge High School; and the Energy Department's Office of Science.

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for the Energy Department by The Alliance for Sustainable Energy.