DoE Announces 2016 Collegiate Wind Competition participants



This wind tunnel constructed by NREL engineers will test the small wind turbines designed by 10 university teams competing in DOE's Collegiate Wind Competition.

Ten small wind turbines will go blade-to-blade in wind tunnel tests at the inaugural DOE Collegiate Wind Competition (CWC) that runs concurrently with the AWEA 2014 WINDPOWER Conference, May 6-7, at the Mandalay Bay Conference Center in Las Vegas, Nevada. Designed by university teams, these wind turbines will compete in areas such as performance, power control, and safety ratings. Prototypes of the wind turbines will be tested in a wind tunnel designed and constructed by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory to test wind turbines with rotors up to 45 cm in diameter.

The wind turbine contest is one of three in which university teams must compete in to win the competition. The teams also had to develop a business plan that identifies a market for the turbine and will demonstrate their knowledge of current market issues in a presentation given at the competition. The team that scores the most points in all the contests will win national recognition for its college or university and its turbine will be displayed at the DOE headquarters building in Washington, D.C.

Spectators are encouraged to attend the event to see the teams' innovative concepts tested and presented and to cast their vote for the People's Choice Award. Although there is no charge to see the competition, visitors need to register for badges to gain access to the Shorelines A exhibit hall.

DOE Collegiate Wind Competition