NREL announces participants in National Executive Education Program



The Energy Department's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) has selected 17 leaders to participate in its 2014 Executive Energy Leadership program (Energy Execs), which empowers executives to integrate clean energy solutions in their communities.

The five-month program offers executive decision-makers from throughout the U.S. an in-depth look at renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies. As part of the experience, participants receive briefings by NREL technology experts, research laboratory tours and visits to renewable energy installations.

"The continued transformation of our current energy system to one that is more sustainable will require informed decision-makers who are leading the way," NREL Director Dan Arvizu said. "We are pleased to welcome these business, community and government leaders so they can understand the implications of their energy decisions and demonstrate leadership for the long-term clean energy economy.

At the conclusion of the program, participants will present a viable clean energy project. Since its inception, more than 200 representatives of industry, government and non-profit organizations have completed the Energy Execs program, delivered through the Executive Energy Leadership Academy.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory
2014 Executive Energy Leadership Program Participants

Gary "Bernie" Bernfeld – City of Austin Electric Utility Commission
Drew Bolin – Colorado Public Utilities Commission
Meredith Brooks – FirmGreen, Inc.
John David Canney – Associated Landscape Contractors of Colorado
Sean Conboy – Vail Resorts
Elyse Hottel – City of Boulder
Ward Lenz – Advanced Energy
Nellis Kennedy-Howard – Sierra Club
Adam Knoff – Unico Properties, LLC
Zuhair Mased – University of California, Merced
Anthony Molinaro, Jr. – Allen & Shariff Engineering, LLC
Michael O'Malley – Xcel Energy
Deborah Ortega – Denver City Council
Laura Richardson – The Jordan Institute
Anturuan Stallworth – Atlantic Coast Energy Corporation
Penny Whitney – Rocky Mountain Technology Alliance
Christopher Worley – Colorado Energy Office

Executive Energy Leadership Academy