Shortlisted finalists announced for Energy Institute Awards 2014



The Energy Institute (EI) Awards judging panel, made up of distinguished industry experts, has now reviewed the submissions to this year's competition and shortlisted the finalists. The winners will be announced by Huw Edwards, respected news correspondent and broadcaster, at a black tie ceremony and dinner in London on 13 November.

Communication award, sponsored by Third Person
· BP for its Energy Sustainability Challenge handbooks
· Ernst & Young for its Financing the future energy landscape report
· Paul Davis & Partners for its Residential Retrofit: 20 Case Studies project
· Schneider Electric for its Energy University

Community Initiative award, sponsored by Nexen
· BG Group for improving science education for 30,000 students
· EDF Energy and the Transformation Trust for The Big Energy Project
· London Borough of Islington for its Warm Home discount bulk referral programme
· National Energy Action and SSE for the Wales Fuel Debt training and mentoring project

Energy Excellence award, sponsored by DONG Energy
· Altaaqa Global CAT Rental Power for rebuilding a war-torn nation through energy
· International Association of Oil and Gas Producers for its Gathering data; saving lives project
· Ministry of Defence – Defence Infrastructure Organisation and Partners for the Energy Spend to Save programme 2011–14
· Open Energi and Aggregate Industries for their bitumen tanks help to balance the grid

Environment award, sponsored by the Environment Agency
· SLG for low carbon leather
· Sindicatum Sustainable Resources for its RenewCo projects
· SWRP for the Subsea Well Response project
· Vital Efficienci for energy savings and ISO 50001 certification at Cancer Research UK’s research laboratory

Individual Achievement award, sponsored by Dentons
· Neil Fowler CEng FEI Chartered Petroleum Engineer, Taqa Bratani
· Dr Zaffar Khan MEI, University of the West Indies
· Nathan Leaver FEI, Greenergy
· Elaine McFarlane CEnv MEI, Shell

Innovation award, sponsored by National Grid
· SGS for automated real-time analysis of fluid properties at the well site
· Stanhope-Seta for H2S Analyser and Vapour Phase Processor
· UK Power Networks for Flexible Plug and Play
· Wessex Water for Bridport Sewage Treatment Works conversion

Safety award, sponsored by Shell
· British Gas for its investment and strategic leadership in their safety team
· E.ON for its process safety management system
· Greenergy for the Plymouth Terminal upgrade
· Tank Terminal Training for its Safety of Ethics project

Technology award, sponsored by Costain
· Chinook Sciences for RODECS® end stage recycling plant
· Halliburton for RezConnect™ well testing system
· Marine Engineering Energy Solutions and Doris Engineering for its articulated wind column
· Meta Downhole for Metalmorphology™

Young Energy Professional of the Year award, sponsored by Aramco Overseas
· Rachel Callender, Centrica
· Ana Gorgyan CEng MEI Chartered Energy Engineer, Independent Power Corporation
· Jaz Rabadia MEI Chartered Energy Manager, Debenhams
· Daniel Saville GradEI, Trowers & Hamlins

Huw Edwards is a news anchor and has presented and commentated on some of the world’s major events including US President Barack Obama’s inauguration, the opening ceremony of the London Olympics and HM The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee. Originally a parliamentary correspondent, Huw has won a BAFTA award and interviewed presidents, prime ministers and major figures in all areas of public life.

Energy Institute Awards

Energy Institute